Summer Nostalgia

I’m seriously missing Summer already and it feels like Winter hasn’t even started yet, I’ve been trawling international blogs where all things summery are teasing me. I think it’s time for a quick trip to Fiji for some Vitamin D!

Unfortunately Winter is coming which means we’re covering up our bods and grabbing our leggings/sweaters/stockings/jeans!

With the lack of sunshine and increase of heaters and electric blankets our skin is going to be drying out, to prevent this we need to be hydrating!!

My gorgeous mother surprised me the other day by making me some personalised oil which will be perfect for the Winter months ahead. She used Almond oil as a base and added some skin friendly essential oils such as Mandarin, which is great for toning and firming, and Palmarosa, which has healing properties perfect for spots and dry skin. All mixed up and put into a glass bottle which she tells me she got from the $2 shop.

It can be used over the whole body and on the face before bed. The best time to apply is straight out of the shower when the body is still damp as the oil is absorbed directly into open pores. If you have combination skin and tend to be oily in your T-Zone (forehead, nose, chin) then only apply oil to your cheeks.

My mother used:
500ml Almond Oil
15 Drops Mandarin
15 Drops Palmarosa
15 Drops Feminine Blend
Please be wary of what and the amount of oils you use as they can be very harsh on the skin, feel free to email me with any questions/queries/comments.

If you’re not the DIY type then my favourite off the shelf body oil is, Pure Fiji Exotic Bath & Body Oil in White Gingerlily, $46NZD which is sold on their website.

Tip: To get the most out of your moisturiser, use a dry exfoliating mitt on your body (not face) BEFORE jumping in the shower.

N x

About natwalsh7

I have been in the cosmetics industry since 2003 working for such brands as Estee Lauder and Chanel, and have an absolute passion for cosmetics. I am currently completing my Bachelor of Commerce and doing a short course in Magazine Feature Writing. This blog is designed to post up to date information on cosmetic trends, upcoming collections and classic tips and tricks. Feel free to email me with any questions/comments. Natasha x
This entry was posted in Body, Current Obsession, Skin, Tips and Tricks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

