When to bin-it?

 
I am so bad at keeping my products forever! I’m worried that one day I’ll want that hideous sparkly pastel blue eyeshadow for who knows what! I try to do an annual clean out of my make up case to stop me from hoarding crap.

 

♥Liquid Foundation lasts between 6 and 12 months, after a year the ingredients begin to separate and if the preservatives expire then germs can breed and that’s the last thing you want to be applying to your face.

♥ Anything in powder form can last up to 3 years (depending on the brand), such as blusher, eyeshadow, bronzer etc. You can tell when the powder is past its use by, it wont sit on your face smoothly and may look discoloured.

♥ Mascara lasts up to 6 months, the eye area is highly sensitive so if product expires it can be very irritable.

♥ Lipsticks and Lipglosses last around 2 years, you shouldn’t be concerned about irritation but the quality. Check the smell, texture and taste.

Store products in a dry, cool place to help them last and make sure you check the PAO symbol on the back of any product, the number within the symbol states how manymonths it should last after opening.

N x

About natwalsh7

I have been in the cosmetics industry since 2003 working for such brands as Estee Lauder and Chanel, and have an absolute passion for cosmetics. I am currently completing my Bachelor of Commerce and doing a short course in Magazine Feature Writing. This blog is designed to post up to date information on cosmetic trends, upcoming collections and classic tips and tricks. Feel free to email me with any questions/comments. Natasha x
This entry was posted in Tips and Tricks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

